Unable to view HT-1100 Modem Statistics directly from LAN side of Router

• Problem
  • Updated 1 year ago
  • Solved
After lengthly experimentation to connect my newly installed HN Modem to a brand new Apple AirPort Extreme to use the AAE as my Router and as my DHCP Sever I finally succeeded.
In my success however, I can no longer access the HN modem using the 192.168.0.1 or DN, as it's on a different subnet.
I have meticulously documented all of my settings on the following web page rather than waste excessive space here as well as to provide a "How-To" guide for anyone else using the same equipment who might benefit.

MY QUESTION IS: How can I access the HN Modem from my desktop directly?
Documentation is here:

http://www.orijinations.com/Orijinati...

TIA,
John
Ocean City, NJ
Photo of John Hay

John Hay

• 51 Posts
  • 9 Reply Likes

Posted 1 year ago

Photo of Gwalk900

Gwalk900

• 4537 Posts
  • 4674 Reply Likes
You have rather complex network setup and I am far from an expert but:
The modems "Internals", the SCC (System Control Center) is located at 192.168.0.1 period, no way around it, no way to change it.

If you can't see SCC, on a simpler network, it would be because "something else" on the LAN side of your network is trying to "share" that address and that isn't going to work.

For several reasons, Hughesnet only follows about 60% of normal networking "rules". The other 40% you can just toss away.

I can't begin to tell you how many "Network Engine-Ears" have popped in over the years insisting that Hughes was slamming the doors on various ports needed to do "normal" networking tasks, remote cameras and so on.
Some are almost ready to fight !

This IS Hughes, support in the lower tiers, is script driven and half a world away.

Then you have an Apple Router, known to be a difficult setup on a simple network setup and yours is far from simple.

Suggestions ?
As a Test, "simplify" your network, try a differant (Netgear ?) :

Modem/router/switch/switch ?